New Users  |  Log In Contact Us


Home



Discussion Forum

Discussions


November 28, 2014




Focus Group Formation

If an ONS member is interested in organizing a focus group on a particular topic that is not identified by an existing Focus Group or Special Interest Group, the Membership & Component Relations Director will contact the member to determine their willingness to serve as the Contact Person for the group.  Focus Groups are established by ONS members who have applied to the Membership & Component Relations Director and have received approval from the Society's Board of Directors.

If you are interested in starting a focus group you can contact C. DeMarco @ cdemarco@ons.org to get further information.



Your Step-By-Step Guide to Quality Improvement

Have you ever read an article and said, "Okay, that's great, but how do I do this in my clinic?”

The groundbreaking supplement to the October Clinical Journal of Oncology Nursing (CJON) is here to help. http://ons.metapress.com/content/v84083051738/?p=a3d6f9de4f5b4063a3e152fa60ae93ff&pi=5 

 

•             Learn how a quality improvement pilot program improved patient satisfaction scores and reduced outpatient visits to the emergency room.

•             Use the new Patient Health Questionnaire-9 screening tool in your practice.

•             Read how a review of quality measures helped introduce change to practice and increased the number of patients assessed for fatigue

               (87% to 100%) and sleep-wake disturbances (15% to 80%).

•             Take advantage of a step-by-step approach to develop your own survivorship program.

 

Oncology nurses are obligated to help improve the quality of cancer care, and nurses at every level can have an impact. October's CJON supplement is your guide to novel and systemic approaches to assessment, screening, and interventions to adopt into practice, as well as tools, algorithms, protocols, action plans, and innovative programs to address gaps in care.

Read It Before It Prints

Each month, either the Oncology Nursing Forum or Clinical Journal of Oncology Nursing releases one of its articles online in advance of the print issue. Be the first to check it out!

Read the Oncology Nursing Forum’s http://ons.metapress.com/content/120390/?Content+Status= Accepted November advanced print exclusive article by Ellyn E. Matthews, PhD, RN, AOCNS®, CBSM, Madalynn Neu, PhD, RN, Paul F. Cook, PhD, and Nancy King, MSN, RN, CPNP®, CPON®: Sleep in Mother and Child Dyads During Treatment for Pediatric Acute Lymphoblastic Leukemia. http://ons.metapress.com/content/17522v65p1t62420/fulltext.pdf 


The ONS Focus Group Directory has been prepared to assist eligible ONS members who have questions concerning the groups. The directory lists the contact person of each Focus Group. Members who are interested in joining one of these groups may contact the ONS Office at 412-859-6230, or the Focus Group Contact listed here. All ONS members are eligible to join one or more Focus Groups. The Focus Groups are:

 

Caring for Prisoners with Cancer (CPC)
Anne Marie Graheck, RN, BS, OCN®
agraheck@primehealthcare.com

Computers in Nursing
Mary McLendon Hodge, RN
mclendom@musc.edu

Evidence-Based Practice Change
Edith O’Neil-Page, RN, MSN, AOCNS®, CNS
eoneilpage@msn.com

Gay Lesbian Bisexual Transgender Issues
Judith M. De Groot, RN, MSN, AOCN®
judithdegroot@centura.org

Gerontology/Oncology 
Elizabeth McGrath, APRN, MS, AOCNP®
elizabeth.b.mcgrath@hitchcock.org

Health Policy Issues
Susanne N. Suchy, RN, MSN, AOCNS®
suchys@karmanos.org

International Oncology Nursing
Maria De Carvalho, RN, MSN
mariiade62@hotmail.com

Multiple Myeloma
Tiffany A. Richards, MS, ANP-BC, AOCNP®
tarichards@uwalumni.com

Nurse Entrepreneur
Tanya L. Brubaker, RN, BSN, MBA, OCN®, CCRP
tanya.brubaker@johnmuirhealth.com

Nursing Informatics 
Joanne Abbotoy, MSN, RN
joanne.abbotoy@roswellpark.org

Nutrition
Susan A. Tiffany, RN, OCN®
stiffany@hoacny.com

OncoDermatology Nursing 
Kathryn Ciccolini, RN, BSN, OCN®
kathryn.ciccolini@gmail.com 

OncoDermatology Nursing 
Anna Skripnik, RN, BSN, DNC
annaskripnik11@gmail.com 

Oncology Case Management
Sheryl A. Riley, RN, OCN®, CMCN
sriley@enhancecare.com

Oncology Quality Management/Outcomes
Fiona McCaughan, RN, MS, MBA, OCN®
fcmccaughan@yahoo.com

Oral Adherence 
Linda Kernick, RN, BSN, OCN®
lkernick@me.com

Pediatric, Adolescent & Young Adult
Maureen A. Cahill, RN, APN, MSN, AOCNS®
mcahill@ncsbn.org

Prostate Care
Juli T. Aistars, RN, MS, APN, AOCN®
jaistars@NCH.org

Rural Health
Norma K. Krumwiede, RN, MN, EdD
norma.krumwiede@mnsu.edu

Sexuality
Raquel Begelman, RN, OCN®
raquelpb@hotmail.com

Vascular Access & Oncology 
Christina Klein, OCN®
christina.klein@ctca-hope.com 

Veterans Affairs Oncology Nursing Care
Lori A. Hoffman Hogg, RN, MS, AOCN®
Lori.Hoffman-Hogg2@va.gov



Powered by ReadyPortal Sitemap   |  Home   |  Discussion Forum

Copyright 2012 ONS Board . All rights reserved.